"Route" receives mixed feedback from merchants. Positive reviews highlight the app as a game-changing, stress-reducing solution for handling shipping issues, with an excellent response from customer service. On the downside, some merchants have reported unsatisfactory experiences, citing issues like claim processing delays, lack of communication, and unexpected charges. Overall, while many merchants find immense value in Route's package protection features, others recommend caution due to recent lapses in service reliability.
Route is generally well-received as a beneficial app for merchants seeking to streamline shipping insurance processes and enhance customer satisfaction. Nevertheless, merchants are advised to be aware of potential service inconsistencies and ensure clear communication with Route’s team. Businesses that manage high shipping volumes or frequently experience lost or damaged parcels may particularly benefit from Route.
Not a free app. Misleading at best. - This app is listed as free with no recurring fees, which is misleading at best. We installed this app in September 2021 to try the tracking functionality. We don't have a need to insure our packages in case of loss. We tried the app for a week, decided it was not for us, and uninstalled it. Fast forward to December 2021 (3 months later), we received an invoice for $20 from Route. We couldn't figure out why we received an invoice as Route is listed as a free service. After questioning the person in their billing department, we found out the insurance option is turned on by default. You have to manually turn it off (opt-out). We contacted a customer who had supposedly insured their package and found out they didn't know they had paid for insurance. Since insurance is added by default, the customer who ordered 13 separate line items didn't see the insurance charge either. Actual email with Route: ------------------------------------------------------- On Thu, Dec 2, 2021 wrote: Is this service added by default or did we opt-in to add the insurance to our checkout? We never wanted insurance at all (we only wanted to try the tracking) which is why this is highly surprising. Route Billing - Thu, Dec 2, 2021 I can't speak to the process when you signed up but as of right now, the insurance is added by default. ------------------------------------------------------- Long story short, we ended up paying Route $20 for a service we didn't need or want. In addition, we had to refund the customer who paid for insurance they didn't need or want. Normally, when you deal with reputable companies, they handle such problems. In this case, Route's answer was "it's not my problem". ------------------------------------------------------- Route Billing - Thu, Dec 2, 2021 I apologize for this lack of transparency and confusion but it's a legal obligation at this point. Not really something that's up to me ------------------------------------------------------- This app is not free unless you are careful to "opt-out" of the insurance. This not only lacks transparency but is dishonest. Their response of "not my problem" was unsurprising given their lack of transparency.
Excellent for us - We wanted a way for our customers to be able to get the package protection they need if they feel it necessary. Route has enabled us to allow our customers to add extra security to their orders should they wish to do so, and it's often at a very fair price. With how crazy shipping has been since the pandemic hit, allowing our customers the ability to insure their packages has been invaluable.
Works great for us - Not only has Route paid out to customers whose packages have gone missing, it has eliminated us from the process altogether. Customers file directly with Route without ever mentioning anything to us, couldn't be easier.
Great experience - Working with Route has been a great experience. The team has been very responsive, and the app works seamlessly. Claims have been handled quickly and it took a lot of work off our customer serve team while allowing our customers to purchase worry free from shipping issues.
Great App--Takes Away the Worry - We do a lot of shipping via first class mail on USPS. We also ship internationally. And we use FedEx Ground or UPS in the US. In the past I was concerned that the shoppers could end up having something lost in the shipping. As a shipper, I know that they would contact me about a lost item. First class USPS shipping was the most likely to have a problem. I wanted to have an option where the customer could choose shipping insurance. Then I found Route. Now, any customer knows he is paying for protection or accepting responsibility. It is a great app to help take away concern about lost shipments. I highly recommend it. I would like the ability to use Route for a phone order that bypasses the shopping cart.
A+ Route Insurance - Route has been a fantastic addition to our store. Giving customers additional peace of mind with their order being protected! Easy installation and great support.
Shipping Insurance delivered - We love Route! We were getting complaints from customers saying their shipments went missing or never arrived, with route we can help customers insure their shipments and give them piece of mind that their purchase is protected. Instead of receiving chargebacks and filing shipping claims, now customers have an ally against porch thieves and negligent shipping services.
Easy installation - This app was really easy to integrate with Bigcommerce. The guys at Route were very helpful and answered all our questions. So far, all the claims have been processed as promised and my customer have been impressed with how easy and fast the process was.
helpful but need slight improvements - Route is a great addition to our website and has been helpful in providing support with claims. However, one improvement that can be implemented is to provide an option on whether or not they want insurance. At the moment, its default setting is insurance included, many customers don’t realize it’s optional. Besides that, Route has been great.
Helpful with some issues. - There are some useful features in this app. The only issue I had was the inability to toggle off automatically adding the service to shopping carts. Nearly 100% of my customers paid for it, likely without realizing it. The only way to stop it was to turn off the paid option. It would be nice to have it as an option for customers to add to their order, without it being set by default. Feels shady to me.
Improved Customer Confidence - Route is a great addition to our website and very popular with our customers. Route gives our customers added confidence that, if anything should go wrong with their order, they are covered in the case of loss or damage. For mere pennies, the customer can choose Route Insurance. We collect the funds and Route picks them up automatically each week. There is no cost to us and, though we do not profit from this service, we gain so much in customer satisfaction. Route is always a no-pressure option during Checkout, but our customers select it quite often. Finally, the free Route App is amazing. Customers download this to their smartphone and get notifications about the delivery of their orders from our website and any other shipments they wish to track. We are very satisfied with Route.
Great add on for our website - This has been great for us. Claims are quick and easy to file! Some claims are approved instantly and some require a few days for approval, but we've not had any issues.
No reimbursements a total fraud - This looked like a great idea and the software worked really well. I would say that 99.9% of all customers added this to their cart at checkout and I was both amazed at the way customers embraced this service. At first I was confident about Route, I loved the idea of offering customers peace of mind. It seemed all systems go until I needed to ask some questions. Probably not that important really, just about integration, which I managed myself in the end. So their failure to respond went un-noticed really. Out of hundreds of orders, a couple went wrong and got damaged. The claims seemed to be taken care of and Route approved them. I included my account to receive reimbursements from Route and largely forgot it until I received an email stating that they were unable to pay into my account and that I must update the reimbursement method. I changed to paypal. They said I would have to wait until the next payment cycle for the $19. A month came and went and no payout. I eventually contacted Route to ask where my reimbursement was. In the meantime, another claim for £60 had been APPROVED by them. I have waited nearly a week for my reply after being fobbed off twice. I looked earlier and the original reimbursement for $19 has gone completely from the admin panel and the $60 reimbursement says claim Approved but reimbursement Not_Approved. So there you go folks, a scam company who are only too pleased to take a small %age of each sale. Take your customers money but decline to payout. That to me suggests a company in trouble. A company I will not present to my customers under our brand! We have since sent Route a notification of suspension from our website. We have also contacted American Express and blocked them from taking any payments. We are still awaiting a reply from Route and will update this review accordingly. We have since installed Nano Insurance as I have communicated, personally with their CEO in setting up the service. I am sad that Route are so bad!
No reimbursements a total fraud - This looked like a great idea and the software worked really well. I would say that 99.9% of all customers added this to their cart at checkout and I was both amazed at the way customers embraced this service. At first I was confident about Route, I loved the idea of offering customers peace of mind. It seemed all systems go until I needed to ask some questions. Probably not that important really, just about integration, which I managed myself in the end. So their failure to respond went un-noticed really. Out of hundreds of orders, a couple went wrong and got damaged. The claims seemed to be taken care of and Route approved them. I included my account to receive reimbursements from Route and largely forgot it until I received an email stating that they were unable to pay into my account and that I must update the reimbursement method. I changed to paypal. They said I would have to wait until the next payment cycle for the $19. A month came and went and no payout. I eventually contacted Route to ask where my reimbursement was. In the meantime, another claim for £60 had been APPROVED by them. I have waited nearly a week for my reply after being fobbed off twice. I looked earlier and the original reimbursement for $19 has gone completely from the admin panel and the $60 reimbursement says claim Approved but reimbursement Not_Approved. So there you go folks, a scam company who are only too pleased to take a small %age of each sale. Take your customers money but decline to payout. That to me suggests a company in trouble. A company I will not present to my customers under our brand! We have since sent Route a notification of suspension from our website. We have also contacted American Express and blocked them from taking any payments. We are still awaiting a reply from Route and will update this review accordingly. We have since installed Nano Insurance as I have communicated, personally with their CEO in setting up the service. I am sad that Route are so bad!
No Customer Support, I mean ZERO - When they wanted to sign you sign up, they were quick to return calls. After you signed up its another story. I had my one and only claim where my customer purchase express shipping at a cost of $28.00 dollars. They made a claim because they said the item never arrived. I had no idea this was happening, which is fine. The elected the cash back option and Route refunded the cost of the item only. I then heard from my angry customer wanting to know where is my $28.00 dollars. I contacted Route customer support inquiring about the claim and wanted the know why the shipping was not covered. Maybe they do not cover the shipping? I do not know because after 48 hours during the work week I have yet to receive a response. Not covering shipping is a major problem, especially if your ship internationally. There are much better services out there, and do not them fool you with their tracking app. Its really nothing special.
Everyone is Protected - Love the ability to protect my orders and know my customers will be happy with what they receive! The Route system updated recently to include Route automatically has been my favorite recent release.
Dont't add it to your platform!! SCAM ALLERT - Everything is good when they are taking the money from the customers , however you can't reach anybody when you have a lost package. I currently have 3 claims and, in the last 7 days I couldn't reach any staff members and no update on the platform from them. I had to cover the insurance provided by them from my pocket. THEY ARE BASICALY STEALING MONEY !!! CAN'T BELIVE BOGCOMMERCE ALLOWS SCAMS ON THEIR PLATFORM
Seamless - I've had no issues with route, and my customers have had no issues paying for peace of mind. I only wish it was available for WIX, since i have a store over there as well!
Spamming my customer after Opt-In. - Got a customer who didn't appreciate getting spam after signing up for Route. I am also getting advice on health benefits of Vitamin B from Route. Insurance isn't enough, they want to leverage my e-mail contacts. Nope, not cool to spam my customers who opt-in for Insurance.
Spamming my customer after Opt-In. - Got a customer who didn't appreciate getting spam after signing up for Route. I am also getting advice on health benefits of Vitamin B from Route. Insurance isn't enough, they want to leverage my e-mail contacts. Nope, not cool to spam my customers who opt-in for Insurance.